Wednesday 18 April 2012, 11:45 | By

Adele and Epworth lead Ivor Novello shortlist


Ivor Novello Awards

Adele and Paul Epworth lead this year’s Ivor Novello nominations with four each, mainly for songs they worked on together.

Epworth appears twice in the Best Song Musically And Lyrically category, both for writing ‘Rolling In The Deep’ with Adele, and for Florence And The Machine’s ‘Shake It Out’, which was penned with Florence Welch and Kid Harpoon. Adele also gets a double chance of winning in the PRS For Music Most Performed Work category with ‘Rolling In The Deep’ and ‘Someone Like You’, which was written with Dan Wilson, both shortlisted. Both also appear together in the category for Best Album.

Elsewhere, Lana Del Rey, Nero and James Blake battle it out for Best Contemporary Song, and Radiohead’s Jonny Greenwood is in the running for Best Original Film Score with his soundtrack for ‘We Need To Talk About Kevin’.

The full list of nominations is here:

Best Song Musically And Lyrically: Adele – Rolling In The Deep (Adele and Paul Epworth), Florence And The Machine – Shake It Out, (Paul Epworth, Kid Harpoon and Florence Welch), Ed Sheeran – The A Team (Ed Sheeran)

Best Contemporary Song: Nero – Promises (Joseph Ray, Daniel Stephens and Alana Watson), James Blake – The Wilhelm Scream (James Blake and James Litherland), Lana Del Rey – Video Games (Lana Del Rey and Justin Parker)

Best Original Film Score: Life In A Day (Harry Gregson-Williams and Matthew Herbert), The First Grader (Alex Heffes), We Need To Talk About Kevin (Jonny Greenwood)

Best Television Soundtrack: Leonardo (Mark Russell), Page Eight (Paul Englishby), The Shadow Line (Martin Phipps)

PRS For Music Most Performed Work: Adele – Rolling In The Deep (Adele and Paul Epworth), Adele – Someone Like You (Adele and Dan Wilson), Take That – The Flood (Gary Barlow, Howard Donald, Jason Orange, Mark Owen and Robbie Williams)

Album Award: Adele – 21 (Adele and Paul Epworth), Kate Bush – 50 Words For Snow (Kate Bush), Pj Harvey – Let England Shake (PJ Harvey)


  • Marvin Gaye record will not be played in court during Blurred Lines trial
  • Rdio removed as defendant from latest pre-1972 lawsuit
  • Ian Brown testifies in Fred Talbot’s indecent assault trial
  • Challenges for small music venues outlined in new Music Venue Trust report
  • Brian Harvey Radio 1 remarks “absurd and offensive”, say BBC