Awards Business News Media

Student media awards presented

By | Published on Friday 9 November 2012

Student Radio Awards

The Student Radio Awards, staged by the Student Radio Association, took place in London last night, and look, here is the list of winners.

Best Station: URN (Nottingham)
Best Marketing & Branding: URN (Nottingham)
Best Technical: Bailrigg FM Field Switchboard, Bailrigg FM (Lancaster)

Best Male: Ethan O’Leary, 107 Spark FM (Sunderland)
Best Female: Hattie Pearson, Fuse FM (Manchester)
Best Newcomer: Abbie McCarthy, RaW 1251am (Warwick)

Best Entertainment: Drivetime with Richie Lee, 107 Spark FM (Sunderland)
Best Specialist: Dance Revolution, 107 Spark FM (Sunderland)
Best Interview: My Boy Daniel – Ivan Lehane, 107 Spark FM (Sunderland)
Best Journalistic: The Pulse: The Truth About Taxis, URN (Nottingham)
Best Speech: Hello, I’m Half-Caste, Smoke Radio (London)
Best OB/Live event: Varsity 2012, RaW 1251AM (Warwick)
Best Chart Show: Xpression FM (Exeter)

Kevin Greening Award: Beyond Silence – Saving the Sounds of Spring, IC Radio (London)

In a busy week for college media award giving, The Guardian’s Student Media Awards, celebrating the best in student journalism, took place on Wednesday night, with winners like this…

Student Publication Of The Year: The Courier, Newcastle University
Student Website Of The Year:, University Of Sheffield

Student Reporter Of The Year: Elizabeth Porter, University Of Oxford
Student Feature Writer Of The Year: Tom Banham, University Of Sheffield
Student Columnist Of The Year: Alexander Chafey, University Of Sheffield
Student Critic Of The Year: Dominic Kelly, University Of Cambridge
Student Photographer Of The Year: Diana Jimenez Quintana, University Of West London
Student Digital Journalist Of The Year: Elena Cresci, Cardiff University
Student Broadcast Journalist Of The Year: Joe Lord-Jones University Of Sussex And Spike Morris, University Of Leeds (Joint Winners).

Those student journalists writing about music, don’t forget you could have your work honoured alongside the great and the good of the wider music media at the Record Of The Day Awards later this month, with the CMU-supported Best Student Music Journalist prize. Any student music journalists wanting to put themselves forward should do so via this CMU URL.