Awards Business News Media

Student Radio Award noms announced

By | Published on Thursday 11 October 2012

Student Radio Awards

The noms are out for this year’s Student Radio Awards, organised by the Student Radio Association, and supported by the BBC and Global Radio. Sunderland-based Spark FM leads the proceedings with eleven nominations in total. The awards will be presented on 8 Nov in London town.

Here’s your noms list people:

Best Live Event or Outside Broadcast: Varsity 2012, RaW 1251am (Warwick); May Bumps 2012, Cam FM (Cambridge); Elections coverage 2012, CSR (Canterbury); Sherlock Holmes And The Hordes Of Dracula, Xpress Radio (Cardiff); The Forum Opening, Xpression FM (Exeter); The Torch In Sunderland, 107 Spark FM (Sunderland).

Best Interview: Scott McGerty interviews Utah Saints, 107 Spark FM (Sunderland); Olivia with Ian Rankin, Fresh Air (Edinburgh); Scott McGerty Interviews the Far East Movement, 107 Spark FM (Sunderland); Rita Ora Interview, Mim Shaikh, (Leeds); Anthony Horowitz Interview, John Wakefield, URY (York); My Boy Daniel, Ivan Lehane, 107 Spark FM (Sunderland).

Best Student Radio Chart Show: Xpression FM (Exeter); Radio Sonar (Southampton); Forge Radio (Sheffiled); Hub Radio (Bristol).

Best Technical Achievement: Clickteesside iPhone App, Click (Middlesbrough); S.U.R.F (Show Uploading & Recording Facility), BURST (Bristol); Bailrigg FM Field Switchboard, Bailrigg FM (Lancaster); Presenters First: A Unified Computing Experience, URY (York); OpenOB, Low-latency audio over IP for broadcast, Insanity (Egham); OCD Broadcast Content Management System, Insanity (Egham).

Best Journalistic Programming: The Pulse: Whose Lenton is it?, URN (Nottingham); URY (York) Newshour, URY (York); Trent Talk, Fly FM (Nottingham); The Science Show, URN (Nottingham); The Pulse: The Truth About Taxis, URN (Nottingham); Sabbatical Elections 2012, 1449AM URB (Bath).

Best Speech Programming: Hello, I’m Half-Caste, Smoke Radio (London); How I Lost My Faith, RaW 1251am (Warwick); Beyond Silence: Saving the Sounds of Spring, IC Radio (London); In The Stalls, URY (York); The Fo’ Show, Cam FM (Cambridge); There’s A Hair In My Soup, URN (Nottingham).

Best Specialist Music Programming: Dance Revolution, 107 Spark FM (Sunderland); Mim Shaikh Presents The Shaikh World Show, (Leeds); Coco Electro, URY (York); Fly FM Saves Guitar Music!, Fly FM (Nottingham); The Hip-Hop Show, URN (Nottingham); Guy Larsen’s Gypsy Doodle, Nerve Radio (Bournemouth).

Best Entertainment Programming: Weekday Breakfast with Scott, Jodie & Carl, 107 Spark FM (Sunderland); The Walktime Show, Tequila Radio (Cardiff); Dan and Murray, Pure FM (Portsmouth); The Chris Browning Show, Xpress Radio (Cardiff); The Tom Davies Show, RaW 1251am (Warwick); Drive Time with Richie Lee, 107 Spark FM (Sunderland).

Best Marketing & Station Sound: Fly FM (Nottingham); 107 Spark FM (Sunderland); 1350AM GU2 Radio (Guildford); Purple Radio (Durham); Radio Sonar (Southampton); URN (Nottingham).

Best Newcomer: Jenna Wild, CSR (Canterbury); Giles Gear, URN (Nottingham); George Page, 107 Spark FM (Sunderland); George O’Neill, URN (Nottingham); Abbie McCarthy, RaW 1251am (Warwick); Pete Robertson, Xpress (Cardiff).

Radio Best Male: Ethan O’Leary, 107 Spark FM (Sunderland); Jon Jackson, Demon FM (Leicester); Sean Thorne, Xpress Radio (Cardiff); Matthew Hemmaty, Shock Radio (Salford); Tom Watts, Fly FM (Nottingham); Jon Holmes, Smoke Radio (London).

Best Female: Rachael ‘Coco’ Cole, URY (York); Emma Bradshaw, URN (Nottingham); Hattie Pearson, Fuse FM (Manchester); Claire Chambers, Fly FM (Nottingham); Emma Real-Davies, Surge (Southampton); Erica Dancer, Demon FM (Leicester).

Best Student Station: 107 Spark FM (Sunderland); URN (Nottingham); URY (York); Xpress Radio (Cardiff); Purple Radio (Durham); Cam FM (Cambridge).