Friday 21 September 2012, 11:36 | By

Velvet Underground & Nico tribute to feature Thee Oh Sees, Ty Segall, White Fence


Castle Face & Friends

Artists and associates of California-based label Castle Face Records have all recorded versions of tracks from ‘The Velvet Underground & Nico’ for a new covers LP. It’ll (kind of) coincide with a 45th anniversary reissue of Lou, Nico and co’s original long player, out on 29 Oct.

Ty Segall, White Fence, The Fresh & Onlys, Kelly Stoltz and Thee Oh Sees – whose principal songwriter John Dwyer also co-owns Castle Face – all feature on the compilation, which will have a limited (1000 copies) ‘banana yellow’ vinyl release on 6 Nov, complete with original sleeve art by David Shrigley. Alternatively, all tracks will be available digitally as of 15 Oct.

Pre-order copies of the vinyl record here.


Kelley Stoltz – Sunday Morning
Warm Soda – I’m Waiting For The Man
Ty Segall – Femme Fatale
Blasted Canyons feat Jeremy Cox (of Royal Baths) – Venus In Furs
White Fence – Run Run Run
The Fresh & Onlys – All Tomorrow’s Parties
Burnt Ones – Heroin
The Mallard – There She Goes Again
Here Comes The Here Comes – I’ll Be Your Mirror
K Dylan + The Black Angel’s Death Songsmen – The Black Angel’s Death Song
Thee Oh Sees – European Son

Rather than an actual preview of the ‘Castle Face & Friends’ collection, which doesn’t seem to exist at the moment, why not listen to Thee Oh Sees’ ‘So Nice’, taken from the band’s new full-length ‘Putrifiers II’, if only because it sounds like ‘Venus In Furs’:


  • CMU Podcast: Pandora, Modular, Streaming royalties, George Osborne
  • Kim Dotcom takes to the stand in MegaUpload extradition hearing
  • EMI loses Santa Claus Is Coming To Town in termination rights case
  • Justin Bieber would like you to stop looking at his penis
  • CMU Beef Of The Week #274: Hozier v Chilly Gonzales